The Post Dinner Sweet Tooth (Chocolate)

June 17, 2010

I’m guilty of having a craving for something sweet after most of my meals. My mom says my grandpa did this so I guess I always assumed it was genetic, but that’s completely stupid after I put some thought into it.

It’s all related to the Carb Craving, or a Flavor Craving (these two things I will cover eventually).

Since I recently started the Paleo/Primal diet, I definitely still crave sugar more often than I should.

My solution? Chocolate.

After deliberate research, millions of dollars in case studies, and Google, I came across a chocolate brand that fit my caveman needs quite perfectly.

Enter: Theo brand chocolate.

Flavors from left to right: Cherry Almond, Orange, Mint

And here’s the ingredients listing for those interested (although this is the orange one, the differences between each are minor):

  • Cocoa Beans
  • Sugar
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Orange Oil
  • Orange Zest
  • Ground Vanilla Bean

The cocoa beans, sugar, and cocoa butter are all “Fair Trade Certified By Trans Fair USA” and everything is “Certified Organic By Washington State Dept. Of Agriculture.” Aka, this stuff is a solid choice.

Each package is broken up into 6 smaller bars, and the nutritional info is 2 serving size, so thats 3 bars.

Nutritional Info:

  • Calories: 200 Fat Cal 150
  • Total Fat 17g
  • Sat Fat 10g
  • Trans Fat 0g
  • Cholet 0mg
  • Sodium 0mg
  • Total Carb 20g
  • Fiber 4g
  • Sugar 11g
  • Protein 3g
  • Iron 6%

Only downside is its “Manufactured on shared equipment with products containing milk, eggs, wheat, peanuts and other nuts” but that sort of thing doesn’t bother me since I’m not deathly allergic.

This chocolate isn’t sweet as mainstream stuff, so the common M&Masaurus might need to ease into the dark chocolate world.

Also available in milk chocolate if you dare.

If. You. Dare.
P.S. I found these at Whole Foods, but check your local overpriced health food shop.

Leave a Reply

